|· The Herd's Rules · Portal||Help Search Members Calendar|
|Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )||Resend Validation Email|
| Welcome to Herdstone. We hope you enjoy your visit.|
You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.
Join our community!
If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:
Posted: Aug 1 2012, 12:47 AM
Member No.: 5,331
Joined: 14-March 12
I'm sorry if this has been covered before, I feel like it must but can't find it...
I'm confused over how lore of death spells which target individual models (Leech, Fate, and Caress), work when targeting multi-part models. It is specifically covered in the FAQ, which I can summarize as:
Q: When targeting a multi-part model with one of these spells can I chose which part of the model is hit. For example with a ridden monster, can I chose monster or character?
The example they give is pretty simple, but I'm confused over some other situations, and about how we define a multipart model. Some specific questions:
1. Cavalry/Monstrous Cav: does this count as a multpart model? Rules say that mount's toughness is never used, and its Ld only used when a rule specifically says so. Does the above FAQ ruling count as one of these rules? Also, there is no mention of never using the mount's strength, so I can I target the mount with caress? i.e. can I snipe a lord's horsey and leave him trailing behind the rest of the knights?
2. Chariots: Says the beast's Ld is never used. Ok. Doesn't say that about the chariot itself, so can i target Leech onto the chariot and use its Ld of 0? Also, with fate and caress, can I chose to target the spell onto the lower S/T of the crew or beast, and if so, does it do wounds to the chariot itself, given that the crew/beasts don't have their own wounds profile?
3. Steam Tanks? I don't have access to their rules. But same as above, can i target the 0 Ld of the tank itself, or the low S/T of the crew?
4. War machines: This seems more obvious. I can target the war machine itself and use its Ld 0 right?
Thanks for any help.
This post has been edited by Billy Ocean on Aug 1 2012, 01:02 AM
Posted: Aug 1 2012, 05:56 AM
Member No.: 4,579
Joined: 25-December 10
1. No. Monstrous cav isnt a multi-part model. Nor is Calvary. It is an individual model. For example an elven hero on an eagle gets the extra wound from the eagle but alas not its toughness.
2. Chariot is a mount. Like a dragon. You cant kill one of the steeds on a chariot, the whole thing uses its combined (best stat) for tests. The whole thing is the model just like you cant target the dragon's left wing no luck on targeting the boar over the driver, though you could target the chariot instead of the hero if you chose.
3. As of the new empire book, the Steam tank has been changed to a chariot from "special" it now follows the rules for a chariot.
4. Well you always target the machine. The crew "doesnt exist" on war-machines, they are merely wound markers. The LDR stat given for the crew is the stat used by the machine.
I may be wrong on all of this but that is how it is played in tournaments around these parts, for whatever thats worth.
This post has been edited by Hewhorocks on Aug 1 2012, 05:57 AM
Posted: Aug 5 2012, 01:34 PM
Member No.: 646
Joined: 16-March 05
The short answer is you are using the crew leadership in these cases
Remember unmodified leadership is defined as the highest leadership in the unit